Tom Osborne and Chancellor Christensen to roast UNO’s Trev Alberts


Nebraska football legend Trev Alberts will be honored tonight at the Omaha Press Club as the 149th Face on the Barroom Floor.

Alberts was a Nebraska Cornhuskers linebacker from 1991 to 1994. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame last December, becoming the 17th Nebraska player to be inducted along with six former Cornhusker coaches.

At the University of Nebraska at Omaha, Alberts has transformed athletics. He was named Director of Athletic in 2009 and was later promoted to Vice Chancellor of Athletics in 2014.

In his time at the university, he has elevated 14 Maverick teams up to Division I status (when he started only hockey was Division I). He made UNO a member of the prestigious National Collegiate Hockey Conference in hockey and a member of the Summit League in all other sports.

He secured community support and funding to build the new Baxter Arena at 67th and Center Streets, part of UNO’s south campus. He renovated UNO’s football stadium into an all-weather soccer pitch for the men’s and women’s soccer programs and has helped rebrand UNO athletics with a distinctive “O” logo.

Alberts also had a distinguished football career, which included winning the Huskers’ first Butkus Award; being named a first-team All-American by every major publication; being selected National Defensive Player of the Year by Football News; having his No. 34 jersey retired; being the fifth overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts; and serving as an analyst on college and professional football games for several major national networks.

The Omaha Press Club’s Face on the Barroom Floor Committee, which recognizes Nebraskans for their contributions to media, will honor Alberts with a 5:30 p.m. reception at 1620 Dodge St., 22nd Floor, of the original First National Bank Tower. A dinner and roast will follow.

Some of the roasters invited to speak about their time with Alberts include: Sue Morris, president, Heritage Services (emcee); W. David Scott, president and CEO, Tetrad Property Group; John Christensen, Ed.D., Chancellor, University of Nebraska at Omaha; Tom Osborne, former football coach and athletic director, University of Nebraska-Lincolnl; and former Nebraska Congressman
Mickey Anderson, president, Baxter Auto Group.